In the beginning…

Fitness has been around for centuries and for each of us as individuals, we have various levels, ideas, and knowledge about what fitness is. The definition of fitness is as follows:

fit·ness

noun

  1. the condition of being physically fit and healthy.

Some of us have been following fitness for years and for others this is brand new. I myself have been following fitness on and off since I was in my early teens. I’ve never been a very active person, though. I enjoy hiking/backpacking, snowboarding, etc – however, these aren’t things that I do on a regular basis. I’ve been becoming very interested in working out for the past couple of years now. Though, still lacking the full commitment to truly make changes to my body.

I’ve always been fairly thin and I stand at 5’5″. The photo on the left is my haviest at about 135lbs. The photo on the right is my lightest at about 105lbs. Only 1 year apart from each other. Both photos, I’m unhealthy and unfit in. I have very little muscle mass in each of these photos. These were 6 and 7 years ago now. Of course, I felt better about myself at the lighter weight, but I remember still not feeling the greatest physically.

Back to the past couple of years – I’ve been in what I feel to be a horrible limbo. Not fat, but not really thin. Starting to gain nice muscle mass, but too much body fat that fills and covers anything worth showing off. I’m sitting around 120lbs fairly consistently, despite dieting techniques and intensity of workouts. I’ve never been into sugary foods much, but crave cheeses like nobody’s business. Also, I enjoy my glass of wine at the end of the day to settle down for the evening. I workout typically 5 days a week (after work) when I’m being steady about it. Over the past couple of years I will go a couple months with  a perfect workout streak, then fall into the lazy abyss for a couple or few weeks, then magically appear back in the gym.

I have studied diets like crazy; from macros, portion control, liquid diets, calorie counting – pretty much everything! However, even though noticing some of these things would start to work, I lacked the full commitment. My problem, truly, is having good self-control and full commitment.

This is simply some vague background information on my fitness history. I have many plans in store for the near future and want you all to be caught up with where I’m at as I continue my journey and work towards that full commitment to making myself the best I can be and hoping to inspire you to never give up on your goals.

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” -Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

